Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

anyone use VNC on Windows 7 with QCharts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• anyone use VNC on Windows 7 with QCharts?

For about a year and a half I've used UltraVNC tunneled over a secure SSH connection to remotely access my home server running Win2K and QCharts. This has worked great for me and allowed me to have 1 workspace instead of a home workspace and a laptop workspace.

Anyway, I "upgraded" my home server this weekend to Win7x64SP1, got my ssh tunnel setup with the latest UltraVNC.... and everything works great except QCharts. For some reason it refuses to draw the QCharts window in in VNC. If I physically go to the server, you can see QCharts, but it's just not displayed in the VNC display. Bizarro.

QCharts *does* however show up in remote desktop, but I'm weary about opening up the RDP port on my firewall AND maybe I'm just an RDP newbie, but I just can't seem to get the multi monitor server display to map properly to the laptop.

So, if anyone has any ideas on:
    1. how/why QCharts isn't showing up in VNC OR
    2. if you're tunneled RDP over SSH and can give RDP magic parameters to be able to see the full dual monitor desktop

I'd greatly appreciate your advice/input.

Thanks,
    lugz

OK, I got RDP tunneled over SSH working, but it seems a slower than VNC. Everything looks good and working with RDP (including QCharts) except Firefox 4, which doesn't display at all. Good grief, it's always something!

lugz

Comment

I've been using Windows 7 64-bit, Ultra VNC and Qcharts since Windows 7 came out. I've used with with and without a SSH tunnel for both VNC and RDP.

Some things to check on your Ultra VNC configuration

I'm using UltraVNC 1.0.8.0 -- I had some troubles with 1.0.8.2 and haven't been able to iron them out

1. Do you have the mirror drivers installed and enabled?
      2. See attached screenshots for Admin Properties and Properties settings.
      Eric Boehm

Comment