Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Memory Leak and CPU Pegged @ 100%

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    22

    Memory Leak and CPU Pegged @ 100%

    Any update on when 6.0 will stop pegging my computer cpu @100% renderning it useless all the while it goes from using 30mb of memory to well over 1G and then eventually crashes my system?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    290
    Hi There,

    Can you please review the comments from one of our livecharts users here.
    The suggestion to check/configure/remove a program called "Ad-Aware" may help.

    Kind Regards,
    Shaheed M
    Desktop Solutions Support
    Helpful Sites:

    KnowledgeBase

    Account Maintenance

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    22
    First, Im not using Live Charts I'm using Qcharts

    Second, I don't have Ad-Aware on the computer.

    Third, the CPU pegging to 100% and memory leak (more like memory hog) are caused by Qcharts. As soon as it crashes and I send in a crash report my computer goes back to normal until I start it up again and go through the same scenario.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    3,993
    The memory issues are fixed in QCharts 6.0.3 which is due out in the next 30 days. There are also improvements to chart speed and other areas of the application.
    Regards,
    Jay F.
    Product Manager
    _____________________________________
    Have a suggestion to improve our products?
    Click Support --> Request a Feature in eSignal 11

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    99
    [The memory issues are fixed in QCharts 6.0.3 which is due out in the next 30 days. There are also improvements to chart speed and other areas of the application.]

    I brought up the memory leak problem many months ago. Hard to believe it took all this time to fix it. I could have fixed it in several weeks even though I'm not intimate with your code. When I got no response to my assertions I suspected denial, and when that occurs I pull away, and don't post at all.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    99

    We;ve got another problem

    6.0.2 is unusable at this time. The reason for this which actually is somewhat distinct from the memory leak problem, has to do with current exponential jump in tape atomic actions. When switching from one stock to another QC has to gather sufficient data for its parameter scope, yet this runs the pull into hundreds of megs per instance. Even if you have a 4 gig machine this will tax resources on but a few stocks resulting in unresponsiveness and thereby uselessness.

    I have a solution to this burgeoning problem. However, I won't even bother going into the details of a solution until QC's designers acknowledge they understand this latest problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •