Many dde link qualifiers don't work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Many dde link qualifiers don't work

Hi, I'm new to eSignal and my main use of the program will be through the dde link to Excel, if I can get it to do what I need. I'm trying to build a time and sales table, basically preserve the snapshot quotes that come in so I can sum the ticks and volume. I'm working with the nasdaq 100 emini.

The problem I'm having is that trades that occur at the same time and same volume as the previous one don't trigger a calculate event in Excel, so the trade or trades is missed every time more than one trade of the same size occurs in the 1 second time stamp.

Some of the qualifiers listed in the help that I thought would be unique to each trade don't work. I tried tick, ticks, vol, and got errors. TotalVol gave me a number that doesn't change.

Any ideas appreciated.

Esteban

Hi Esteban,

Our DDE links are not really set-up to capture each tick and re-create something like Time and Sales. The DDE links work great when you're trying to capture data every 10 seconds or each minute but not tick by tick.

For more on our DDE links, you might want to look at our DDE FAQ's

Thanks.

Comment

Scott,

You should inform your sales team about this. I was assured that not only could I build time and sales with vba in excel, but that time and sales tables are directly supported, as they are in QLink, which I currently use. This was the one basic question I wanted answered correctly when I signed up, and I made that clear at the time. The rep even checked with someone else to verify what he told me when I insisted.