• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Streaming quotes data

Hello all,

I am new to API Desktop and have several questions:

1/
    Is there a way to get trades executed with volume on a streaming basis, but also be able to differentiate whether that trade was the bid or ask being hit?

As far as I can tell the Basic Quote structure gives information on the last Last, Ask, or Bid but does not say whether the last Last was on the Bid or the Ask. And the last Ask (or Bid) may actually be a few minutes ago.

2/
    When the documentation specifies AskSize or BidSize, what does that mean? I thought the Asks or Bids were just quotes. Are they actually trades executed on Ask or Bid, with the corresponding size of those trades.

In that case, I could always compare the Last and LastSize with the Ask/AskSize or Bid/BidSize. But that would still not solve the problem if Ask = Bid and AskSize = BidSize.

3/
    Can I use the Time and Sales structure to do question 1? As far as I can tell, Time and Sales allows you to request n number of days in the past. How would I do it if I want real-time data to come?

Or am I completely missing something?

Thank you for your help,
    Michael
    Last edited by mikev777; 10-08-2004, 11:09 AM.

The Last is the last trade price.

The AskSize and BidSize are for quotes.

TimeAndSales cannot be streamed, but should be able to derive that information from XMLGetBasicQuote.

Comment

Thanks Robi,

Does that mean I can find out if the Last price was the Bid that was being hit by using XMLGetBasicQuote and comparing Last to Bid (i.e. Last == Bid) for that Basic Quote?

Couldn't there be a slight lag between the Last and Bid in this case? Meaning, isn't the Bid in XMLGetBasicQuote the price at which the next Market Maker is willing to buy, and not the price at which the last trade hit the bid if the bid was being hit?