Backtesting Settings Suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backtesting Settings Suggestions

Right now Backtesting only providesfor closing out trades "at the end of backtesting." So, regardless of the number of time intervals, let's say 5 days, in thebacktest, it will only close out trades at the end of day 5, not at the end of each day of the 5 days. I am a day trader, and never carry positions over night. So, I don not want my backtests to caryy positions over night, which results in the backtest accruing all the "windfall" gains/losses which result from overnoght "Gaps." I presently have to run the 5 day study, print out all the trades, and then go in and manually subtract out each and every positionopened on one day, and closed on another day, to get a true "day trader's" system simulation. You already have a ssettings checkbox on the Backtesting popup window for "close trades at end of backtest." Pleasse add another option to:"CLose trades at end of every day (or user specified interval). This would eliminate the manual hand calculator work (GASP!!--in the computer age) now required.
    thx. Tilmon

Hello Tilmon,

To request new features and enhancements please submit them in eSignal through the Customer Support-->Make a Suggestion form. You can also send them directly to [email protected].

In the mean time you can add some code to your back testing formulas that checks for the end of the day using the day() function.

PHP Code:
    function main() {
    // your code

// for back testing only

if (day(0) != day(1)) {
            if (
    Strategy.isLong()) Strategy.doSell("End of Day"Strategy.CLOSEStrategy.THISBAR);
            if (
    Strategy.isShort()) Strategy.doCover("End of Day"Strategy.CLOSEStrategy.THISBAR);
        }

return;