Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Symbol data library, SymbolData.efslib is available containing symbol specific data.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Symbol data library, SymbolData.efslib is available containing symbol specific data.

This library was written by Steve Meyer over 10 years ago which was before the Autotrading Class libraries/functions utilized in the sample EFS_AT provided by eSignal.

I recently came across it again and though it might be useful for others to use. I have several strategies that actually utilize the library to calculate and display the running Profit and Loss on the chart which can be useful.

This requires information such as mintick, point value etc that is easily maintained in the SymbolData.efslib.

I am not a developer and barely hack out my back testing and autotrading strategies. I worked in IT my entire career however and worked with, for and had working for me at times a number of developers. Steve is one of the best I've ever had the pleasure or working with. I've seen him write programs of 10,000 lines and not only was the code elegant, beautifully documented, brilliantly designed and implemented but amazingly was comprised of hundred's of 10-20 line functions and that is incredibly difficult to achieve. This library is primarily a simple table but the functions at the bottom illustrate the point about the "functional decomposition" found throughout his code.

The following is from the comment header section of the library which explains the functionality, hopefully someone will find it useful.

The complete library is attached.

//The Problem:
    //
    // For backtesting purposes and for autotrading until the EFS_AT classes/functions were available
    // it was necessary to hardcoding symbol specific information, like trade size and tick size
    // for example, was necessary.
    //
    // Loading a strategy efs into a SPY chart for example and changing the