formula wizard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• formula wizard

I am new to eSignal and I am trying to get used to the formula wizard. I have written a few basic formulas to do backtesting on MA crosses with RSI parameters and they are working, but I can't seem to figure out how to setup a close date. Any help would be appreciated.

rpendergraft1
    You may need to post some more details about what you are trying to accomplish (preferably including your code) as it is not clear what you mean with "setup a close date".
    Alex

Comment

I setup a test in formula wizard to test instances where the 5-day moving average was above the 20-day moving average and the RSI was below 40. I set it up to go long in each instance, but I can't get it to set up a closeout date. I also can't get the formula to copy from Formula Wizard so that I can paste it here for you.

Comment

rpendergraft1
        Are you viewing the Bulletin Board using the browser in eSignal? If so try using an external browser (ie Internet Explorer, Firefox, etc) to post your message. That way you should be able to either attach the file directly to your post or paste the contents of the formula in your message
        Alex

Comment

Actually, it is the copying from Formula wizard that is the problem, not the pasting.

Comment

rpendergraft1
            You cannot copy from the Formula Wizard window. You need to open the script with the Editor (Tools-> EFS-> Editor) and copy from there. The simpler solution is to attach the efs file to your reply in the forum
            Alex

Comment

See attachment.
              Attached Files

Comment

rpendergraft1
                In a prior post (see quote below) you mention that you have set up the strategy to go long if your conditions are met. As far as I can see it is set up to go short.
                Regardless all you now have in your script is the condition to trigger a trade and the command required to enter the trade itself.