Determining the slope of a trendLine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Determining the slope of a trendLine

Could somebody suggest a EFS to show in a non-price study a green bar if the slope of a trendline is greater than a predefined fraction and a red bar is below? and trigger an alarm list and sound?

Could that be done with the Formula Wizard?

Thanks

PBC

Trendlines' end points drawn from the Line Toolbar cannot be accessed by an EFS. Trendlines' end points drawn from within an EFS can be accessed, and slope can be determined from there. This would be quite difficult to do with Formula Wizard and would be better suited for a straight EFS file.
    Regards,
    Jay F.
    Product Manager

Comment

Thanks Jay- Trouble is I am not good at EFS writing without the wizard. Could you help--- at your convenience?

What I really need is tracking the slope of the 40EMA line, to avoid whipsaw action when the slope is les than+/- a predefined amout and show the +ve -ve and flat slope on a non price sudy bar.

Thanks again

PBC

Comment

Actually you can tell how fast the ema is rising or falling, so you can display various colors in the non price study pane depending on the rate.

What rate do you consider fast? slow?

Comment

Thanks Dave:

Actually I would like the possibility of defining those rates, but basically +/- 10-20 and 30% would be a good start

Thanks again

Comment

You can input the rate n to this efs fila and have the barsturn red or lime, based on the ems change over the last 2 bars.
            Attached Files

Comment

Thanks Again Dave.- The formula seems to work only if rate is kept at "0". Any positive value turns the bar red and -ve values blank it. So in essence the bar tells only if the close is above or below the 40EMA with no relations to the slope.