signals on efs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• signals on efs

Hi i am new to esignal systems. I set up a program (buy/sell1efs) watching it live i am confused how it gives the signals.. a red arrow and sell appears then a green and a buy but these seem to dissappear then re appear.. finally ending up with one remaining ..how can a person know which signal is really the one to trade?

Re: signals on efs

Hello larry384,

Originally posted by larry384
    Hi i am new to esignal systems. I set up a program (buy/sell1efs) watching it live i am confused how it gives the signals.. a red arrow and sell appears then a green and a buy but these seem to dissappear then re appear.. finally ending up with one remaining ..how can a person know which signal is really the one to trade?
    The problem you're describing is a common pitfall in EFS formula development. The real answer to your question is that the formula code needs some additional logic to prevent the conditions from being evaluated multiple times during the interval. The formula currently is evaluating signals on the current bar on a trade-by-trade basis. Therefore, depending on the price of each trade, the trade condition could evaluate to true at one level, false at another, and back and forth until the interval closes. These are referred to as false signals, which creates this disappear/reappear behavior.

Here are a few options for you to consider.

1) If you want to evaluate the signals intrabar and take only the first one, then you could incorporate some code logic to control this. For a code example of this type of logic, please see AlertOncePerBar.efs.