coloring bars based on atrs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• coloring bars based on atrs

Linda Raschke uses a bar color study that is based on average true ranges. I have found it to be useful in tradestation. How would one go about creating the following in esignal.

If a bar moves a certain amout of atrs of the lowest low the bar turns green and if it moves a certain amout of atrs off the high it turns red.

I believe she uses 20 bars and 2.5 atrs. but this could obviously be adjusted to what a user likes. It is obviously very similar to a keltner channel but uses the past 20 lowest low or past 20 bars highest high as a reference instead of the moving average or centerline. I have tried the formula wizard and even cut and paste but I am not a programmer and it just seemed to be difficult for me.

thanks for the help if anyone chosses to give this a shot

john

var vATR14 = new ATRStudy(14);
    var vDonchian = new DonchianStudy(20, 0);
    var vLastAlert = -1;

function preMain() {
    setPriceStudy(true);
    setStudyTitle("corona");
    setColorPriceBars(true);
    }

function main() {
    setPriceBarColor(Color.blue);

if (
    high() >= vDonchian.getValue(DonchianStudy.UPPER, -1)+2*vATR14.getValue(ATRStudy.ATR)
    ) onAction1();

if (
    low() <= vDonchian.getValue(DonchianStudy.LOWER, -1)-2*vATR14.getValue(ATRStudy.ATR)
    ) onAction2();

return null;
    }
    function onAction1() {
    setPriceBarColor(Color.red);
    vLastAlert = 1;
    }

function onAction2() {
    setPriceBarColor(Color.lime);
    vLastAlert = 2;
    }

Comment

thank you for the very fast response considering it is a weekend.