Smoothing of RSI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smoothing of RSI

I would be greatly appreciative if someone could please assist me. I am thinking about switching from my old trading platform to eSignal but I would only do this if I can set my indicators up the same. In my old program I had a RSI of 14 periods smoothed with a 3 period simple moving average. I then overlaid a RSI of 14 periods smoothed with a 52 simple moving average. I have tried the efs wizard and searched the forums without any luck. Unfortunately I have no experience in programming and the training on this website was completely over my head.

Thanks,
    Travis

Travis
    With regards to programming a moving average of an RSI with the Formula Wizard there is a complete and illustrated guide specifically for that study in the Formula Wizard Guide which is in the EFS KnowledgeBase.
    Scroll down to the very end of the Formula Wizard Guide and you will find a link to Study on Study (MA of RSI).
    Also try running a search in this BB for "rsi AND moving AND average" (without the quotes) and you should find a thread in which is a ready made MA of RSI study.
    Alex

Comment

Thanks for the quick and very helpful reply Alex. I was searching under "smoothing AND RSI", I thought the MA of RSI was a different indicator.

Anyway I have managed to find a formula by conducting a search and changed it to actually reproduce the RSI 14 period with a smoothing of a 3 simple moving average. However when I attempted to change it for the smoothing of 52 simple moving average it looks completely different to my old trading platform. I have attached a screen print of my old trading platform and how I want the indicator to look (hopefully you can see it properly). Below are a copy of the formula for smoothing of 3 SMA and 52SMA.

3 SMA:

//{{EFSWizard_Description
      //
      // This formula was generated by the Alert Wizard
      //
      //}}EFSWizard_Description 7532