Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Snake indicator.

Hi,

I’m new to Esignal. I’d like to get this indicator that I have been using for many years translated to Esignal. I call it Snake, it is a variation of MACD.

This is plotted directly on the price bars like a ma.

(325*cx26-11*27*cx12+13*27*(cx12-cx26)x9)/28

The cx is the exponent moving average of the close. So cx26 is a 26 day EMA. The X9 is a 9 period exponent moving average of what is before it. So (cx12-cx26)x9 is just a 12ema of close – a 26 ema of close, smoothed by a 9ema.

A tentative buy is when the indicator is high, then burrows below price. A tenitive sell/short is when the indicator is low, then burrows above price, hence the name.

Any help would be appreciated.

Steve

Hi Steve,

Try this. I'm just practicing programming efs. I'm not an expert so test this out against with whatever uses the original indicator.

I would appreciate it if you posted whether this plots as you intend.

wayne
    Attached Files
    Last edited by waynecd; 05-28-2009, 01:56 PM.

Comment

Snake

Wayne,

Thanks, but that's not it. Could be my fault as I edited the formula to make it look easer. The actual formula is:

((&2-1)*(&1+1)*CX&2-(&1-1)*(&2+1)*CX&1+(&1+1)*(&2+1)*(CX&1-CX&2)X&3)/(2*(&2-&1))

It's basically the same formula I posted before except, &1 = 12, &2 = 26, and & 3 = 9. I just did the math to shorten it. I’ll have another look over the weekend.

Other then that it's the same formula. I tried to attach a chart but it was knocked down for being to big

Thanks,

Steve
      [email protected]

Comment

Steve,

So, CX&2 is the same as Close*26ema etc?

wayne

Comment

snake

Doin this from a backberry.

Cx26 is just a 26 ema of close.

The x Is exponent does not mean multiply

Steve

Comment

Steve,

Then can I assume that "&2' by itself and "CX&2" both equal the 26 ema of close?

If so, the formula should be the same as: