Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving average crossover strategy

Hello,

I am new to eSignal, so please accept my apologies if this sounds too simple. I am trying to back test a strategy that is very simple. I don't know where to start. I know nothing about EFS. If someone can please let me know if there is an EFS for this strategy already, that would be apprieciated.
    Regards
    Damien

Entry:
    Long-EMA20 crosses above EMA30.Open on the next bar.
    Short-EMA20 crosses below EMA30. Open on the next bar.

Exit:
    Long- EMA20 crosses below EMA30. Open on the next bar.
    Short-EMA20 crosses above EMA30.Open on the next bar.

Stop loss:
    Long- 50 points below entry price
    Short-50 points above entry price

Moving Averages crossover strategy

The strategy is plenty simple and requires little coding experience.
    Typically, when one decides to create a script (.efs file) for such algorithm the script is written such that one can choose the length of either MA study, its source (close, open, ... , and all other options) and, possibly, express the stop levels in terms of percentages (instead of 'hard-coded' 5o points - as 50 points can apply maybe to some indexes but not to stock with price [say] less than $50).
    The reason for going with such an EFS is to provide all the flexibility that will enable one to use it for index, for wheat, for ER futures, what-have you.
    I am positive that there are hundreds of folks in this forum who could knock such a script off in a short period of time - yours truly included.

Good luck with your trading - simple algorithm are - at times - the best.

Comment

Re: Moving Averages crossover strategy

Thanks Bey. I agree with you about the stop loss. I am hoping someone will be able to point me to a direction where I can find a similar script which I then can modify changing various parameters such as MAs, stop loss sizes etc to fine tune my strategy.

Regards
      Damien