EFS parameter passing problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EFS parameter passing problem

Hi, I'm developing a custom EFS indicator. I'm new at this, so please bear with me. I'm running eSignal 7.7 candidate, build 664.

A number of user inputs are passed in as parameters through my main() function, with apprpriate checking for nulls, defining default values, as shown in the EFS Help Guide.

As of last night (sunday night), everything was working fine with my input parameters. No problems.

When I loaded up everything Monday morning, with no changes to my script code that I am aware of, the input parameters are not getting defined and I can't access them thru the Edit Studies dialog as before. It's like my environment is hosed somehow.

If I hardwire the inputs, the formula works properly, there are no apparent syntax problems, etc. There is just no communication with the formula allowing me to set the user inputs in any way.

What's going on?

An additional datapoint, after getting the "standard" parameter-passing mechanism working through the main() call last night, I then tried using the Function Parameter class mechanism to soup up the user input interface, handle initialization and defaults more cleanly, etc. I placed a call to askForInput() in my preMain() function.

This was working fine too, except that I ran into the boolean problem (two of my parameters were boolean switches), but I worked around this .. the inputs were coming in as strings anyway.

This morning when I encountered this situation, at first I was running the improved version using the Function Parameter calls. It didn't work anymore, none of that code seemed to have any effect, including my call to askForInput(). So I commented out the newer version and reverted to the standard way of doing things thru main(), with ==null checks and such. That didn't work either and I could no longer see any of the input params in the Edit Studies dialog.