Problem with "for" statement - current understanding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with "for" statement - current understanding

I am rather new to EFS code, but have a long background in developing and debugging applications in various languages (Incl. VB, Pascal, COBOL, dBASE).

In developing some indicators recently using Version 7.9 (Build 719) I came across a problem with the execution of the "for" statement.

I tried everything to get code to work, but statements after "for" did not seem to execute (despite syntax check being ok).

I then replaced the "for" construct with an equivalent "while" construct, and the code executed perfectly!

I have just completed the coding of another indicator (a morphed CCI calculation) and had exactly the same problem.

If this is universal, IT IS VERY SERIOUS!!!

If anyone can confirm, or has found why this problem occurs, I would be most grateful.

griesha30246
    FWIW I use the "for" statement regularly without any problems.
    You may want to post [a representative example of] the code that is not working for you
    Alex

Comment

Possible "for" problem - sample code attached

The following code is an extract of the test code I used to demonstrate (to me) that the "while" construct worked, but the "for" construct did not.

If there is something I have missed, please advise.

function Fn_InitVars() {
      // Note: vCalcLength is a global variable - value 50.
      // aPrevPrice & aPrevDevn are global Arrays.
      // Other variables are not particularly relevant
      var i;
      var vCurrClose = close();

// This works ok - get debug lines output.
      i = 0;
      while (i <= (vCalcLength - 1)) {
      aPrevPrice[i] = vCurrClose;
      aPrevDevn[i] = 0;
      debugPrint("WHILE: i = " + i + " Price = " + vCurrClose + "\n");
      i++;
      }

// This fails to execute - no debug text is output.
      for (i = 0; i == (vCalcLength - 1); i++) {
      aPrevPrice[i] = vCurrClose;