This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• setting efs output

I'm new to EFS, and I've been following the examples as best I can, but I'm stumped. Can you help me modify the MA Cross Over study? Instead of setting the BarBgColor, I'd like to generate either a "1" or "-1" in a non-price study for those same conditions. I have already coded a more complex study, but I'm missing the basics on how to return a value based on my conditions.

jobe1
    Without seeing the efs you are referring to it is not possible to provide a specific code example.
    Regardless enclosed below you can see two basic scripts that will return 1, -1 or 0 depending on the state of the two averages and the conditions used to determine that state.
    The first example assumes you want to return a 1 or -1 when the faster average is above/below the slower one.
    The second example instead assumes you want to identify the crossover point and assign to that a 1 or -1 depending on the direction of the crossover. The results are shown in the enclosed chart.
    Alex

PHP Code:
    var Avg1 null;
    var 
    Avg2 null;

function 
    main(){

if(
    Avg1==nullAvg1 sma(10);
        if(
    Avg2==nullAvg2 sma(21);

if(
    Avg1.getValue(0)==null || Avg2.getValue(0)==null) return;

if(
    Avg1.getValue(0)>Avg2.getValue(0)){
            var 
    Signal 1;
        } else if(
    Avg1.getValue(0)<Avg2.getValue(0)){
            var 
    Signal = -1;
        } else {
            var 
    Signal 0;
        }

return 
    Signal;

PHP Code:
    var Avg1 null;
    var 
    Avg2 null;

function 
    main(){

if(
    Avg1==nullAvg1 sma(10);
        if(
    Avg2==nullAvg2 sma(21);

if(
    Avg1.getValue(-1)==null || Avg2.getValue(-1)==null) return;

if(
    Avg1.getValue(0)>Avg2.getValue(0)&&Avg1.getValue(-1)<Avg2.getValue(-1)){
            var 
    Signal 1;
        } else if(
    Avg1.getValue(0)<Avg2.getValue(0)&&Avg1.getValue(-1)>Avg2.getValue(-1)){
            var