problem with writing MA of own formula

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• problem with writing MA of own formula

I am new to writing on efs. I have written a simple formula as below. It seems to work on my esignal chart. I am trying to create a formula which reads as a 21 simple moving average of the formula below.

/
    function preMain() {

setPriceStudy(false);
    setStudyTitle("My Strength");
    setCursorLabelName("Strength");
    setDefaultBarFgColor(Color.blue);
    setPlotType(PLOTTYPE_LINE);
    setDefaultBarThickness(1);
    }

function main() {

return (2*close()-upperDonchian(21)-lowerDonchian(21));
    }

I went to formula wizard and realised that i could use the function editor to do it. I do not know what to fill in for the property studyVarName and dataSeriesID columns.
    Could someone please guide me how to write this formula.

Thanks for any help,

fortune 88

fortune88
    You will not be able to do what you are trying to accomplish using the Formula Wizard. This is because the Formula Wizard uses efs1 functions which do not accept custom variables (such as your equation) as the source. Those functions can only use a price series (ie "High", "Low", "Close", etc) and in some cases another built-in study.
    To do what you want you will need to use the efs2 functions which can use a price series, another built-in study or a custom series as a source.
    To create a custom series you need to first calculate your equation in a separate function or external efs and then retrieve the results of that calculation using the efsInternal() or efsExternal() functions This series can then be used as a source for the built-in studies.
    In your specific case the first thing you need to do is to rename the main() function and call it [for example] Strength() as shown below.
    PHP Code:
    function Strength() {

return (
    2*close()-upperDonchian(21)-lowerDonchian(21));