easy question to answer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• easy question to answer

But as I admitted last time I don't know - I'm not a programmer by training. Although I finally was able to do my own trivial code to answer my last question on my own - a snap for a guru, no ?

Anyway, here are two scripts that do the same thing - indentically on the screen -

Here's the question, which version will take up less computer resources - which one will theoretically run faster ?

And it would be worthwhile to hear the explanation of the

if ( bInit == false )

and why the good programmers use this.

Best Regards,
    Glenn

var bInit = false;
    function preMain() {
    setPriceStudy(true);
    setDefaultBarFgColor(Color.RGB(50,50,0),0);
    setDefaultBarFgColor(Color.RGB(45,0,0),1);
    }
    function main() {
    if ( bInit == false ) {
    w20 = wma(20)
    w60 = wma(60)
    bInit = true;
    }

myw20 = w20.getValue(0);
    myw20p = w20.getValue(-1);
    drawLineRelative(0, myw20, 5, (myw20+5*(myw20-myw20p)), PS_SOLID, 1, Color.RGB(50,50,0), 0 );

myw60 = w60.getValue(0);
    myw60p = w60.getValue(-1);
    drawLineRelative(0, myw60, 5, (myw60+5*(myw60-myw60p)), PS_SOLID, 1, Color.RGB(45,0,0), 1 );

return new Array(myw20,myw60);
    }

OR

function preMain() {
    setPriceStudy(true);
    setDefaultBarFgColor(Color.RGB(50,50,0),0);
    setDefaultBarFgColor(Color.RGB(45,0,0),1);
    }
    function main() {
    w20 = wma(20)
    w60 = wma(60)
    drawLineRelative(0, w20, 5, (w20+5*(w20-w20.getValue(-1))), PS_SOLID, 1, Color.RGB(50,50,0),0);
    drawLineRelative(0, w60, 5, (w60+5*(w60-w60.getValue(-1))), PS_SOLID, 1, Color.RGB(45,0,0), 1);
    return new Array(w20,w60);
    }

never mind

dug around some more and found some things Alexis had written years ago

Comment

Hey fastflyer, do you think you could link to the articles that you found regarding the