X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to BACKTEST GET-ElliottWave-Study

Hello there!

First af all I'd like to introduce myself:

My name is Florian and I'm from Germany (as you may fast mention by reading my post...!?).

Although I'm a computer scientist now I'm seeking for a new opportunity to get professional in.

I have red your threads carefully and also tested the eSignal tool very well.

BUT THERE IS SOME BIG ISSUE (PROBLEM) THAT HAS OCCURED!

I tried to backtest the formula formerly posted in this forum (it was about the GET-ElliottWave-Study, where a Buy/Sell Signal is triggerd after breaking the MA3 high(LONG) or low(SHORT) while beeing in a specific wave! written by Matt Gundersen)

So I added some strategy code to this study and it comes out that the backtesting does not go further back in time then the number of bars provided to the GetElliottStudy(300,...) (in this case 300).

But when I increase the number of bars, there is a change of back testing results, because IMO the calculation of the ElliotWave algorithm has changed (now calculating new waves on a longer period of time for instance 660 for one day in a 1 min. chart).

So how can I go an with that really important issue, because I really would like to do some "fancy" programming within eSignal and see results on several parameters...

Thanx for your efforts,

Florian.

P.S.: Really enyoed the tools and this forum so far!!!

Hi,