Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Number of Bars to use for Elliott Wave counts

Hi -

I'm relatively new to using GET. It's been really useful for helping me to identify and enter trades, but I'm confused about something. My question is, how many bars should one use to obtain accurate Elliott Wave counts, and are there conditions under which one should use different numbers of bars? I posted this question to another bulletin board recently and an experienced person said it's a matter of preference, and that he uses 3,000 bars. However, if I use 3,000 bars, for example, and then look at some potential Type 1 sells that I just scanned for recently, the Wave counts I see placed on the screen are wildly different that what I get if I use 300 bars. So, it really doesn't seem to be a matter of preference, but a crucial issue for trade identification and trade entry. The help screen on esignal.com for 'Elliott Wave' states that 'To obtain the optimum wave count, we recommend using between 300-600 bars of data.' Can anyone offer any insight on this issue?
    Fritz

Hi fhirsch1,

I had many of these same frustrations when I started using AGET earlier this year. I have come to the conclusion that the reason nobody can give you a satisfactory answer on this question, is because nobody on these forums really knows how to get the kind of accuracy from a wave count (I suspect you're looking at intraday charts) that most people expect when they start using the software - hence the reason for all the additional tools for confirmation, such as GET Osc, MOB, Eclipse, etc....