Real time data feeds via satellite ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Real time data feeds via satellite ?

is there anybody getting real time data feeds using Esignal via satellite feeds?
    how is it working?
    is it a good alternative to a slow DSL connection ?

Hi,

Hopefully some users will chime in with real-life experience but I can tell you that we have customers using both Direct PC and Starband, both satellite-based internet services.

Here's a KB article that discusses various internet options, including the use of Satellite.

Thanks.

Comment

I've been using eSignal with Direcway for 2 years. As for the bandwidth, Direcway is perfectly acceptable, and quotes are received timely. Also, Direcway has a FAP(Fair Access Policy) that limits your bandwidth if you download a significant amount of data (I'm not sure what the exact FAP parameters are). However, I never hit that threshold, and download tremendous amounts of data. I routinely have 300+ symbols connected (all of the major, active contracts and stocks), and I literally never hit the FAP limit. Yet, there is one major problem for me. That is the reliability of the Direcway system. I live in western Wisconsin, where I receive lots of snow, and thus, the system tends to be down rather frequently. That is obviously not acceptable. Because of this, I have a T1 scheduled for installation on Feb. 9. But for you, if your connection is reliable, I don't think you would have any other problems running eSignal with Direcway. I hope that this post helps you out.

Comment

i am writing from Italy and i dont use Direcway
        , how much KBYTE/sec can u download with Direcway?
        i read FAP level for home user is 169 MEGABYTE...doing some math is about
        6kbyte/sec.( about 300kbyte per minute..
        about 20 megabyte per hour..)
        .that woulb be ok also for my slow performing italian dsl connection,