DDE does not work after disconnect/reconnect

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DDE does not work after disconnect/reconnect

I have been using eSignal and the DDE to Excel facility for 6 years now with no problems. Recently I upgraded to version 10.4 and occasionally I get disconnects from my ISP provider that are immediately reconnected with a different IP.

ESignal reconnects immediately and all charts are working with no problem. However DDE does not work and I am forced to close and restart eSignal in order to get DDE working again.

In the past whenever I would get disconnected and reconnected DDE would work with no problem.

Any ideas on how to resolve this issue will be appreciated.

Hello gen2004,

I see that you’ve been using the DDE for quite a number of years so I’ll spare you the how it works speech and give you a quick resolution to the issue.

Testing back to 10.0 I see the same behavior when the Macros (DDE Linking) gets disconnected. A quick way to get the data working again is to use the Matrix Fill button on the SigTools bar. Much like when you add a symbol or qualifier to the worksheet.

DDE Matrix Fill
    This feature is used to update the DDE links after you have changed or added any symbol or qualifier. Once the change has been made select the SYMBOL Header Cell and click the DDE MatrixFill icon. The matrix will automatically be updated with DDE links based on the specified symbols and qualifiers.

Hope this helps you.

AveryH
    eSignal Support

Comment

Hi AveryH

Thank you for your response. I tried out using the DDE Matrix Fill from SigTools. However after a disconnect I receive the error message:

Microsoft Excel: Remote data not accessible. Start application ‘WINROS.EXE’?

and also

Signal DDE MatrixFill: The Data Manager was not found. Make sure it is active and then try this operation again.

It seems that the bug is with the Data Manager, after a disconnect/reconnect has occurred.

- - -