Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scripting Challange

EFS Gurus,
    I am an experienced programmer, competent in EFS as well but do not have enough info related to the issue below.
    I would like to have two scripts work using the following paradigm (assuming eSignal is up and running):

Script 1.
    Read an .ini (or other file) and have a list of symbols to work with.
    For each symbol script 1 load/reload a script (script 2) that will process that symbol (input parameter to script 2)

Script 2.
    Fills the defaults of the parameters read from script 1.
    Run so as to finish n bars and unload itself.

1. Is this possible at all?
    2. I read the documentation about using DLL's and I think I can get the Windowss dll that processes .ini files to work (it would be nice if someone have sample code that I can use though).

Thanks for all your help

Avraham (Bey) Melamed

Hello Bey,

1. Unlikely. EFS does has file I/O. However, EFS has a symbol limit of 7. You can access data for up to 7 symbols within a single EFS, but you will not be able to programmatically change the chart symbol to process a study on a list of symbols or unload studies.

2. This one is uncharted territory. If you can get this to work, you'd be the first that I know of. Perhaps there are some other programmers in the community that can provide some more input for you here.
    Jason K.
    Project Manager
    eSignal - an Interactive Data company

EFS KnowledgeBase
    JavaScript for EFS Video Series
    EFS Beginner Tutorial Series
    EFS Glossary
    Custom EFS Development Policy

New User Orientation

Comment

Working with DLL's

Jason,
      Thanks for your response.

I did not understand your comment about the 7 symbol limit.
      I am aware of the file i/o protocols (functions) and have no difficulty working with it.

I was trying to write code using the Windows' Kernel32.dll in order to read an ini file (trying to avoid having to write a file parser).