Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How does Paper Broker determine Fill Price?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How does Paper Broker determine Fill Price?

Hello All!

I am new to eSignal, and to trading as well. I am currently using the paper trade broker to simulate some aspects of trading. I get fill prices during the day that I dont believe are realistic (I really wish they were!) - fill prices that don't appear to be an option from the Time and Sales Book at the time the order was 'filled'.

Does someone know how the paper broker determines it can 'fill' your 'order' and ultimately the fill price?

Thanks,
    Matt S.

Hi Mark,
    Thank you for the inquiry for paper trading, the eSignal paper trading uses the same concept as any front end trading platform minus some of the features. Orders place at market will be filled at the last traded price.

Limit orders are placed in the Open Order tab until the specified price is met.

You can check all order placed in the broker window. I have included a link to the Paper Trading here. http://kb.esignalcentral.com/article...ticle=1262&p=1

Please let me know if I can answer any other question for you.

AveryH
    eSignal Support

Comment

Avery,

Thanks for your quick response and your URL.

I have attached an image of my 'trade log' from yesterday. I went through the trades for FNM and found 6 instances (highlighted in image) of an ‘execution’ at a price that was not available at that time of day:

Line 34 L:27.47 H:27.84 Fill:27.32 Delta:+.15 min per share
      Line 36 L:27.40 H:27.60 Fill:27.83 Delta:+.23 min per share
      Line 38 L:27.33 H:27.54 Fill:27.58 Delta:+.04 min per share
      Line 40 L:27.46 H:27.90 Fill:27.40 Delta:+.06 min per share
      Line 48 L:28.48 H:28.82 Fill:28.37 Delta:+.11 min per share
      Line 50 L:28.17 H:28.42 Fill:28.65 Delta:+.23 min per share