Can I get more info on ES #F

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I get more info on ES #F

Can someone clarify to me what exactly the ES #F symbol is. I decided to load up ES #F and compare it with ES Z8 in v6.0.3. The first thing I noticed was my WSB standard indicators were not the same. I looked at the candles, and noticed that they were the same until the 9/10/08 candle and they started to differ. I am curiose why the candles are different, and wondering if anyone has any opinions on using the #F vs the specific contract month.

** On a side note,
    I called up QChart Sales this week to get a price on getting back the CL (Light Sweet Crude) Futures, only $30.00 ::doh:: Anyways, after he answered the phone and saw I was a subscriber he asked if I was a Gary Williams Student. I was stunned. I said, you guys must have a lot of Gary students, and he said they have a ton. He said since Gary has started offering the WSB courses via the internet they are getting a lot more people calling in who have taken the course. I thought it was very cool and I figured some of you would get a kick out of it too.

Enjoy,
    Matt

I wish I could just delete this post.... After posting it I read the continuous futures post and it sounds like the #F could have problems. So I guess thats why ES #F isn't lining up with ES Z8.

I feel like such a newb right now

Comment

Matt
      ES #F will be aligned to ES Z8 only up to September 11th 2008 as that was the day the equity index futures rolled over to the December contract (see this post).
      Then ES #F will be aligned to ES U8 from September 10th back to June 12th which is when the equity index futures rolled over to the September contract (see this post).
      Going further back the ES #F will be aligned to ES M8 from June 11th back to March 13th (see this post) and so on and so forth.