volume for the NYSE

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• volume for the NYSE

I am posting a shot of a very useful screen shot of a TS volume chart for the NYSE. I know we can use the symbol $TVOL for this volume BUT I cant find a way to get a useful chart with it. The nice thing about the TS chart is the different colors - so that you can easily compare 2 different times of reference - like- today at 9:00am and yesterday at 9:00am. With out bracketing the different times of the day in different colors - it makes it very difficult to easily see the comparisons.
    Any help with this will be greatly appreciated.
    gdavi68
    Attached Files

Hi GDAVIS01,

I'm not a programmer by any means, so there may be others who can help with the bar coloring that you mentioned. However, I did come up with a little tweak that may work for you. As it currently stands, the daily chart for $TVOL looks something like this.

Because the information in the price pane is being calculated from the close, a single line is drawn at the total volume value for any given day. Try this......

Start by adding a volume study to the chart. Next, right-click on the Advanced Chart window and choose Edit Studies. Change the color of the candle or bar to match the background color of the Advanced Chart. In this case, I changed both the Candle Outline and the Wick Color to white, the same as the chart background. By doing this, the data basically disappears.

Once closing values are no longer visible, use the SHIFT and Drag method to overlay the volume study into the Price pane. You should end up with a chart that you can begin working with. You may want to increase the vertical scaling so that the bars are exaggerated and closer to what you were displaying with TS

Comment

Thanks Duane,
      I tried your suggestion - and there is a problem. I cant get the bars to show intraday data. The bars all max out to the top.