Spread Charting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spread Charting

I am a new esignal user and a spread trader. I cant seem to figure out how to open a spread chart. If I have the futures layout open and I enter the spread I want in the futures.quo area like LH Q3 - LC Q3 spread.... Aug Live hogs - Aug Live Cattle,
    it always says invalid symbol... :-( For sure I'm an esignal newbie and am used to using tradestation. Is there any way I can create a portfolio of 10-15 commodity spreads and then apply a ROC or MOM indicator with its own MA of the ROC or MOM to the spread?? Any help??....Thanks

var spread;
    function preMain(){
    setPriceStudy(false)
    }
    function main() {
    spread = close(0, 1, "LH Q3")-close(0, 1, "LC Q3");
    return spread;
    }

should plot the spread in the lower pane - which can be made larger - at the expense of the main price pane.

The second half of the request can be done but I forget how just now.

Comment

??

Ok....were do I enter that formula? <sigh> Sorry but remember im a noob at esignal...

Comment

doh!

Ok, let's try this...

from the main menu Tools, Editor...

then copy the following

var spread;
        function preMain(){
        setPriceStudy(false)
        }
        function main() {
        spread = close(0, 1, "LH Q3")-close(0, 1, "LC Q3");
        return spread;
        }

into the editor window, then click the Save Formula As button, 4th from left

Save the formula into the Formula directory with the name SPREAD.

Now right clcik on the Advanced Chart window, left click on Formulas on the drop down box - near the bottom

select SPREAD - should be near the bottom again

The spread should show up on the chart in a separate pane at thebottom of the chart.

Place the cursor on the line sepaating the top chart from the bottom chart and hold down the left mouse button to adjust the size of the two panes.

Comment

yay